Monday, April 20, 2009

Giza Pyramid Complex

The Giza Necropolis stands on the Giza Plateau, on the outskirts of Cairo, Egypt. This complex of ancient monuments is located some 8 km (5 mi) inland into the desert from the old town of Giza on the Nile, some 25 km (15 mi) southwest of Cairo city centre. One of the monuments, the Great Pyramid of Giza, is the only remaining monument of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The Giza Valley Plateau consists of 11 Pyramids, 4 Valley Temples, 3 Mortuary Temples, 3 Procession ways, and the Great Sphinx.

a: Pyramid of Cheops
b: Queens' pyramids
c: Western cemetery
d: Eastern cemetery
e: Remnants of the valley temple of Cheops
f: Pits for the solar ships
f1: Museum for the solar ships
g: Pyramid of Chephren
h: Mortuary Temple of Chephren
i: Causeway
j: Sphinx
k: Valley Temple of Chephren
l: Sphinx temple
m: Monument of Queen Chentkaue n: Pyramid of Mykerinos
o: Mortuary temple of Mykerinos
p: Remnants of the causeway
q: Remnants of the valley temple

Aerial View, Giza Plateau